Homemade Seaweed Snacks

I’ve tried to broaden my diet and I hear that sea vegetables are the way to go to add in more minerals and other things that regular vegetables don’t have.  However, I am not keen on fishy tastes.  Enter in  seaweed snacks!  They are at least a lot more palatable than a seaweed salad – I like Trader Joe’s and Sprouts brand, yet when I read the labels closely, I’m not sure I like all the added ingredients going into them.  I decided I would rather make my own so I could control what goes into my body better.  I searched online and have adapted the recipes I saw with a coconut/sesame oil combination for a bit of a mellow “sweeter” type taste – and the added sea salt to balance it out!  I have been on a Himalayan salt kick so that’s what I use these days.  Enjoy!

 

Seaweed Snacks

4 Nori sheets

Coconut Oil ~ 1 tsp

Toasted Sesame Oil – ~1 tsp

Sea Salt – ~ ¼ tsp

  1. Cut 4 sheets of Nori into smaller, easier-to-eat rectangle pieces.
  2. In non-stick frying pan on medium heat, melt coconut oil and sesame oil.
  3. Add seaweed pieces and quickly toss in the oil – add salt as well.
  4. Cook for about 2 minutes and keep stirring; otherwise will burn (turns lighter color)
  5. Turn out onto plate and enjoy!

IMG_2411

The Ingredients – You can get the Nori sheets and toasted sesame oil at any Asian grocery store or sometimes at the specialty foods aisle at a supermarket chain store.

???????????????????????????????

Cut the sheets (4 at a time) to whatever size you like

IMG_2412

Heat up your nonstick skillet on medium heat and add 1 tsp of coconut oil and 1 tsp of toasted sesame oil

IMG_2357

Add your cut-up nori sheets and don’t forget the sea salt – stir constantly for about 2 min.  Just make sure they don’t burn!  If it turns a lighter color than what it went in as…you’ve burned them.

???????????????????????????????

Transfer cooked seaweed shapes to a plate and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

